Canada: Lifting of Direct Access in Designated Geographic Areas

Effective October 6, 2011, the Source Country class has been repealed. This means that individuals can no longer apply for resettlement to Canada under the Source Country class.

As part of the measures taken to repeal the Source Country class, Canada will also be ending direct access in designated geographic areas as of November 5, 2011. This means that applicants in the countries listed below will be required, as of November 5, to include a referral from the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees, a designated referral organization or a private sponsor with their resettlement application in order to be eligible for resettlement.

These changes apply to people residing in the following countries:
– DR Congo Nairobi, Kenya
– Sudan Cairo, Egypt
– El Salvador Guatemala City, Guatemala
– Guatemala Guatemala City, Guatemala
– Colombia Bogota, Colombia
– Sierra Leone Accra, Ghana