Ukrainian and Serbian officials have signed here an agreement on a visa-free regime for short-term travel between two countries.

“I am pleased to proclaim that we have just signed a bilateral agreement to ease visa requirements for our citizens,” said Kostyantyn Gryschenko, the Ukrainian Foreign Minister, during a press conference with his Serbian counterpart Vuk Jeremic.

The agreement provides for visa-free regime for citizens of Ukraine and Serbia for a period of 30 days within 60 days from the date of first entry.

Gryschenko noted that the introduction of the visa-free regime is very important for stirring up visits of Ukraine and Serbia citizens to friendly countries. It will also strengthen relations between the two states and promote intensification of contacts in the economic, culture-humanitarian and other spheres.

In early May, the Republic of Macedonia introduced a visa-free regime of short-term travel for citizens of Ukraine for the period from May 10 to Oct. 31, 2011. The Ukrainian Foreign Ministry prepared a draft agreement on visa regime liberalization with six countries, such as Paraguay, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Switzerland, Croatia, Mexico and Argentina.